Introducing Gaia

OK – anyone who knows me is aware that I’m a total pushover when it comes to felines.  My boss lost one of his cats a couple of months ago and is now looking for a companion for his remaining cat so my colleague and I decided we’d help him look online.

Big mistake.

I should really know better by now.

I ended up on the website for the Birmingham Cats Protection League Rehoming Centre (still don’t really know how) and saw an urgent appeal on there for an elderly cat who was desperately unhappy at their Centre.  Over the next 24 hours, I couldn’t stop thinking about this cat and dropped them an email last Thursday afternoon.  They very kindly replied late on Thursday evening and told me that they’d managed to find a lovely home for her.  I was much relieved.

That was the start of it.

The following morning I received another email from them:

Just thought I would let you know that we do have a cat called Gaia who has recently had her leg amputated due to serious Osteoarthritis from an old injury that was never treated.  She is a little shy but will come around with a little patience, she has been with us for nearly a year and is in desperate need of a home and a little more companionship than we can give her.”

Oh wave a flag in my direction why don’t you?

I had a conversation with a lovely lady there called Paula on Friday (after receiving photos) and on Saturday morning I was on my way up to meet her.  Here she is:

Gaia 3

She’s now in residence, hiding under my spare bed with the door closed.  She’s extremely timid and is going to take a lot of patience, love and understanding over the coming weeks but everyone has said that she’s landed firmly on her three remaining paws now that she’s with me.

I look forward to a long and happy relationship with her.

2 thoughts on “Introducing Gaia

    1. So far she’s only taking the cat treats that I leave on the floor, even though the trail leads to her food bowls but she was in the shelter for 12 months so it’ll probably take longer than most to get her to trust me. I have plenty of time though 🙂

Leave a Reply

