Autocracies

I really hate it when someone annoys me first thing in the morning.  I’m pretty much against being annoyed at any time of day but when it happens first thing in the morning, it sets me up to be a grumpy bitch.  And I don’t like that.

The object of this morning’s wrath is the admin of a group in which I (up until today) participated on Facebook.  It’s a group dedicated to helping people to get themselves better using a particular protocol – although there is a large number of these such groups around, it’s backed up by a well written and researched book and the author of that book is also a member of this group.

I’ve watched the group for a couple of months now, read the advice, discussions and articles posted and increased my knowledge on this particular subject.  The admin in question is a woman who seems to spend most of her waking moments answering questions and pointing people in the right direction, sometimes a little forcefully.  She has spent a lot of her time doing her own research into the supplements which are recommended on this particular protocol to ensure that only the highest quality are used which saves the participants an awful lot of time, for which most of us are pretty grateful.

As you’d expect on this group, there are the knob ends who don’t bother to read the rules for the group and just post willy nilly without reading any of the guidelines and there have also been some trouble making trolls participating, all of whom are despatched pretty quickly.

I’ve grumbled privately about this admin’s attitude as everything she posts seems to be barked (i.e., she doesn’t write in capitals but every sentence seems to be finished with !) and she even barks at those who really don’t deserve it but everyone seems to kow tow to her and does what she says.

For my part, I duly read the group rules, didn’t post until I was sure the answer wasn’t already answered and have been respectful when asking questions.  Until today.  Someone posted a question yesterday, to which I believed I had something to contribute.  It wasn’t directly related to the subject matter of the group but I passed on some advice that I had received from a charitable organisation that I had spoken to in the past.

This morning, I wake up to find that this particular admin has posted a reply to my advice, simply saying “you don’t know what you’re talking about!” (notice the ! at the end).  Not particularly helpful.  And certainly not good for my temper.  How fucking rude!  A relatively short back and forth ensued, where I respectfully (yes, really) pointed out that perhaps her comment was a little harsh (my exact words), that I was trying to be helpful, that my information had come from members of a particular charitable organisation and perhaps an explanation as to why I was incorrect would be more useful.  I was then lambasted and told what her haematologist had said.  He’s obviously God.

Now if there’s one thing I’ve learned over the last few months of reading and research, there’s no such thing as a “one size fits all” solution when it comes to vitamin and mineral deficiencies but to read what she had posted, it was apparent that it was her way or the highway and that she would absolutely brook no discussion with anyone who disagreed.

My response was that I had believed the group was a place for help, advice and discussion and that I hadn’t realised that it was, in fact, an autocracy.  I left.

Now I’m going to be grumpy for the rest of the bloody day.  Thanks.

5 thoughts on “Autocracies

  1. Be happy you are not wasting any more time on them. I learned a few years back to stay away from “forums” and forum type sites run by administrators. Being the administrator is the only way to go. I guess you just don’t fit into the cult. Calming purrs to you.

  2. Don’t let them bring you down….its what that one certain person is after….just smile and know your a better person and your opinion on the subject is correct…..and delete would be the next step…..LOL smile and the world smiles with you…….kat

Leave a Reply

