Doctors and Medical Records

I recently requested to see my entire medical records.  I’ve got to the point in my life where I’ve forgotten a lot of things that have taken me on a doctor’s visit so I thought I’d have a peruse and remind myself of what’s gone on with me over the years.

I’d toyed with the idea of just having a copy of them but as I’d get charged a hefty amount, I thought I’d take a look and see if there was anything I’d like to get copied.  I dutifully composed a letter to the surgery and sent it off and while I was away, I received a call from the Practice Manager to say they were ready and last Friday I went in to have a look.

Now some of you in the UK may already know about this but I discovered that whenever you change surgeries, your current surgery summarises your medical history for sending out.  I went through a period of depression in my middle teens and was prone to dreadful mood swings.  Perhaps this is normal for a teenager but I was concerned and my GP sent me to see a psychiatrist.  My recollection of the two sessions with this person was that I was told I was suffering from teenage depression and that I’d grow out of it.  At the time I remember thinking that it had been a complete waste of time.  What I was never told was that the psychiatrist posited in a letter to my GP that I was suffering from “sociopathic personality disorder”  (and this was helpfully highlighted in the letter that I saw) and that this little label has followed me from surgery to surgery on every summary of my medical history.

Anyone who knows me will be aware that I try not to discount things out of hand initially and usually squirrel myself away in analysis mode if I come across something which I find to be unpalatable.  After a couple of days of doing this (and consulting my good friend Google) I have discovered that I am, in fact, more than a little outraged at this diagnosis.  Even knowing what a pain in the ass I was at the age of 17, I cannot see how any reputable shrink could come to that conclusion and to have had this information effectively withheld from me I find reprehensible.

I’m now going to have to try and figure out how to get this removed or, at the very least, get an annotation that it is an incorrect diagnosis.  I suspect this is going involve another altercation with my GP.  Sigh.

Leave a Reply

