My Non Compliant Cat

Yes I know – cats again.  In fairness, they are a big part of my life so it should be understandable!

Oscar is going through a phase of being non-compliant with his thyroid meds.  He was diagnosed with a hyperactive thyroid last year sometime and is now the fourth cat I’ve owned which has developed a thyroid problem.  He and I have an agreement – I won’t grab him and shove a tablet down his throat (a battle which I frequently lose) as long as he’s a good boy and takes them with the fresh minced beef that I wrap them in.  It took a while to get his dosage right and I had a couple of interesting discussions with the vet about it along the way (there’s a theme in there somewhere) but he’s currently on a 15mg daily dose.  It does drop his levels quite well, sometimes a bit too low, which is why I allow him the occasional day or so where he does steadfastly refuse to take his medication.

I know when he’s going hyper again as he starts to get extremely vocal – yowling at the most inopportune times (6am in the middle of my back garden) and in the most inappropriate places (sitting on the other side of the shower screen from me and emitting ear-splitting noises) and he starts to sleep in inappropriate (or just plain weird) places.  Like my bookcase:

oz-books

In the middle of my (cold) garage. Or my sink:

Oz 171015
Fortunately I know this latter sign well – it usually means he’s overheating. So off we went to the vet yesterday to get more meds.  He announced his presence to the world on arriving at the surgery by letting out the biggest yowl I’ve ever heard from him and then he was quiet.  He lay down on the examination table and curled up, almost like he was saying “thank goodness for that, she got the message!”

Meds purchased, homeward bound.

He thanked me this morning by treating me to a 5 minute yowling session on the other side of the shower screen.  And then took his meds like a good boy.

5 thoughts on “My Non Compliant Cat

  1. I have 3 cats on meds for hyperthyroid, so far I am lucky getting the pills into them. There is a form of the medicine you can get in gel to put on an ear- just a thought in case he gets non compliant again 🙂

    1. Thanks for that – always useful to have an alternative at hand 🙂 He’s the only one I’ve ever had trouble with. Silly as it may sound, it’s almost as though he knows when his level gets too low and starts leaving the tabs.

  2. I had two cats with hyperthyroidism in the past. I opted for the radioactive Iodine treatment–expensive, but one dose and you’re cured and done with treatments. It did work but eventually both cats died of cancers after a number of years. Coincidence or not? Some people are afraid of the radioactivity. I was instructed to save the used clumping cat litter for 90 days until the radioactivity dispelled. I sealed it in cat littler buckets and stacked it out back in the woods. I was told not to throw it out as down at the dump they have radiation detectors and you do NOT want to set them off! I do not know what choice I will make if I have another hyperthyroid problem.

    1. I guess it depends on how long they go on after diagnosis. His treatment costs about £1.00 per day but I think for him it’s less stressful getting a treat of fresh mince every day. He’s a sensitive soul despite a gruff exterior bless him 🙂

Leave a Reply

