Yawn. Need My Bed Today.

Today I am tired.  Not just a little bit weary.  Dog tired.  I’m seriously worried about blinking as I feel so close to sleeping that if my eyelids don’t open up again immediately, that’ll be it.  Sparko.  Power nap whilst sitting up in my chair.  At my desk.  At work.

I’m pretty sure that would be frowned upon.

I mean – it’s not as if I didn’t get enough sleep last night.  A full 7.5 hours (apart from getting up in the middle of the night for a pee – which happens pretty much every night.  I love that bit of getting older.  Not) and I didn’t feel comatose when the alarm fired off at 6am.  Well, both alarms.  I have two.  Mainly because they’re my mobile phones and I don’t trust the damned things to get through the night with enough power to still have enough juice by morning. And let’s not start making suggestions about a “proper” alarm clock.  I had one of those – a radio one which is supposed to sync with the atomic clock or some such nonsense.  Until the night it arbitrarily decided to go back in time. By four hours.  It was winter.  I run on autopilot most mornings and had no idea anything was wrong until I turned on the TV to keep me company with my breakfast and I saw that News 24 was on instead of the usual Breakfast News.  Then my eye fell on the clock in the corner of the screen – WHICH READ 03:45!!!!

That’s OK – it put itself right a couple of weeks later.  Randomly.  Without any prior announcement.  I was very nearly late for work that day.

The weather doesn’t help – it’s rather gloomy and overcast (a bit like my mood) and it’s threatening to rain again.  I thought we were supposed to be having sunny intervals and about 20 degrees by now?  (That’s degrees centigrade, not Fahrenheit for anyone reading this who’s not in the UK!).

I should really get off my butt and go for a walk at lunchtime to try and liven myself up.  Oh.  Wait.  It’s lunchtime already.  Nope.  Not gonna happen. No energy.  No drive.  Need sleep.

<slump>

2 thoughts on “Yawn. Need My Bed Today.

  1. I know this wasn’t your point, but I totally agree with the alarm clock! Every few months I start to shop for one and then hate myself for the thought.
    I hope you get good rest soon!!
    Xx
    –Clare

Leave a Reply

