15 March 2008 – Speaking Your Mind

I’m very lucky with my friends. Or maybe they’re lucky with me. We are able to say what’s on our minds, usually without having to preface it with “I hope you don’t mind me saying this …”. We know that we don’t judge one another and any suggestions made are done so in a helpful or informative way.

I had one of those conversations with a friend yesterday. She and I have only known one another for about a year and she made some suggestions to me yesterday. The content of those suggestions was actually not important – it was the manner in which they were delivered. We had a chat about it today as I just wanted to clarify something.

We both agreed that we will always take suggestions or even constructive criticism on the chin and never dismiss it out of hand but, if we disagree, we reserve the right to chew on it and turn it over in our heads and come back and discuss or refute it later.

I’m always open for suggestions, improvements and even constructive criticism as long as it’s delivered with the right intention but it has taken me a very very long time to get to this stage. It has also taken a very long time to get to the stage where I can trust my (rather small and tight) circle of friends to have the right mentality to suit me.

I no longer have users or wasters or negativity around me. I decided a while ago that those sorts of people were bad for me and I didn’t deserve it. So far it seems to be working out pretty well.

How do you choose your circle of friends and do you prune it regularly? Do you prefer to have a large number of acquaintances or a small tight-knit circle of people you can trust and can truly call “friends”?

Leave a Reply

