19 Feb 2008 – Cosmetics

I hate them. Honestly. I used to like them when I was a wee bitty girl and couldn’t wait for the day when I’d be old enough to paint my face with all these wonderful things.

Then I got old enough and realised what a monumental pain in the ass it was to plaster this stuff on my face for a night out and wondered why on earth anyone would do it during the day. (This was the 80s you understand, so we are talking about women *and* men here!)

I got to the stage where I could get from naked face to full face (foundation, eyeshadow, eyeliner, blusher, lipstick and mascara) in ten minutes flat for a night out but I have never ever worn makeup at work. Except when I was too hung over to hack off that waterproof mascara before going to bed, coz dammit but that stuff is a nightmare to remove without taking your eyelashes with it.

I had friends who wouldn’t be seen dead outside their front door without a full face on and I never understood that. Still don’t.

So – come on – tell me what you think. What level of cosmetics do you prefer? Loads? Little? Daytime, evening or both?

Leave a Reply

