18 Feb 2008 – Girlie or Blokie?

I used to wonder whether I was, in fact, a man in a woman’s body. I know this isn’t the case. I like to think that my masculine side is just better developed than some.

I work in IT. I fix computers and I like it. No, scratch that, I *love* it. I know how to use screwdrivers, drills, spirit levels and a saw, plus numerous other fun household tools. I can fix electrical stuff when it goes wrong too. And change a plug without electrocuting myself. This is not out of a need to prove myself, but rather from a need to be self sufficient. I’m also pretty strong on the whole but still need to “borrow” my next door neighbour’s husband on occasion to open a particularly tough bottle or jar. That’s rare by the way

I love gadgets, although I’m not quite as up on the latest “stuff” as I’d probably still get a bad attack of the “gimme”s and want to buy it all.

I was very proud of one of the companies which I used to work for – out of 7 team leaders, 3 of them were women. Proud – until the day that I overheard one of them say to a member of their team on hearing a techie explanation for something “you need to explain this to me simply – I’m only a woman you know”. This from a woman whom I know was, previously, a programmer. If you know me, you’ll know how close I was to completely blowing a gasket over that.

One thing that I believe is that you need a healthy mix of both genders in your psychological makeup to achieve a healthy balance. To be frank, my psyche has been weighted in favour of the male for a very long time but the last few years has seen me trying to address that balance. Having a strong male side doesn’t mean that I’m anything other heterosexual, but I still think that a lot of people, both male and female, seem to think that a well developed feminine side in a man is a bad thing. Or an indication of homosexuality.  Similarly with a female who has a well developed male side.

I have no idea where I’m going with this post to be honest – these were just some thoughts I wanted to get out of my system but if anyone has any thoughts, views, opinions or comments, I’d be glad to hear them.

Leave a Reply

