8 Jan 2008 – Food Cravings

We all know about some of the weird and wonderful things that pregnant women can crave when their hormones go into overdrive, but what about everyone else? Have you ever craved any particular food for no good reason? I’m not talking about the choc horrors – I’m talking about a real, honest to goodness craving for a seemingly ordinary item of food.

For instance – I’ve had cravings in the past for porridge, mashed potato, carrots – they sometimes go on for two or three days. Today is red cabbage. I’m pretty sure it’s because my body has decided that I’m short on some nutrients.

There was me, in the supermarket, getting the stuff on my list and I spotted a prepared dish of red cabbage (nothing quite like the way they do it over here, believe me) and this huge lightbulb went on over my head. Damned thing can be embarrassing sometimes but hey ho. So I just had to buy it, take it home and have a huge portion of it with my chicken and pasta dish. So that’s lots of anti-oxidants and plenty of other nutrients from the fresh onion and garlic that I sauteed the chicken with. Damned glad I’m not kissing anyone tonight!

Anyone else get cravings like that?

Leave a Reply

